Golf n Grog since 1910 on King Island Tasmania

Heidi Weitjens

Imagine back in the day a group of 30 enthusiasts first playing Golf on King Island in 1910, it would have mostly been about the long grass and the grog ;-) 

Today, over 100 golfers are attracted to play annually this long weekend.  Competitors fly in from all over Australia to get the swing of this two day event, (these days it’s mostly about our great greens and Local grog ;-) ).

The King Island Golf Open is held over the Northern Tasmanian Recreation Day/Melbourne Cup long weekend in November.   Anyone with an AGU Handicap is welcome to participate and play.

The ‘Local’ Links course comprises of 9 holes with 12 greens and breathtaking views of the King Island coastline and Southern Ocean.

The King Island Golf Club was formed in 1931 and after a bowling green was established in 1959.  The two clubs amalgamated to become the King Island Golf & Bowling Club and in 1960 built the clubhouse overlooking the 18th tee and green and hugs the bowls green. 

The perfect place to watch the sunset, enjoy the Spirit of King Island at the bar and a delicious dinner onsite in View Dining Restaurant.

King Island's links situated in the Islands Main Township, Currie, has been described as resembling the design of St Andrew's Golf Course of Scotland rolling fairways carved from the natural undulations. 

Playing 9, 18 or 36 holes it’s a Golfers paradise.

You’ll never guess how much the green fees are, take a guess and then visit http://www.golfkingisland.com/join-us/club-hire-green-fees

Cheers hh

Heidi Weitjens | Distiller | King Island Distillery


Older Post Newer Post


Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published